communities_1.jpg

Fellows Spotlight - June 2022 - Sarah Chan

• 1.  Fellows Spotlight - June 2022 - Sarah Chan

I'mLinkedIn
    Posted 16-06-2022 09:01 AM

Name, Position and Company.

Sarah Chan

Co Founder & Director

Pax People Resolutions (Alternative Dispute Resolution, Coaching and Workplace Investigation services)

Career Journey and Highlights.

• My earliest experience of work was various retail roles including at a bakery, variety gift shop and then as a pharmacy dispensary technician while studying on the Gold Coast. Working in hospital pharmacy gave me my first insight into the nature of politics and personalities in the workplace.
    • My interest in communication and conflict resolution was sparked while studying at university where I completed a business management degree and undertook significant additional studies in psychology.
    • Prior to establishing my business, with my business partner, Fiona Bigelli, my career was spent working in a range of human resources and business leadership roles in medium to large corporations.
    • I spent almost 15 years in financial services leading teams of human resources practitioners and managing workplace relations for large and varied workforces.
    • Working at Westpac was also where I met my business partner, and dear friend, Fiona and together we enjoyed the benefits of 9 years job share arrangement which saw us work in a number of senior human resources role.
    • Much of our time at Westpac was spent managing change including significant organisational design and restructuring, business strategy pivots and evolving regulatory environment requirements.
    • The focus of my work has always been to promote employee development and effective workplace dynamics for individual and team performance and to maximise business success. 
    • Success in all of my roles has been heavily influenced by the ability to foster effective communication for innovation, growth and conflict resolution.